Perfection of Yoga

Perfection of Yoga

This book is the defining book of Yoga. Every chapter signifies “Yoga as…” and dives deep into the meaning and purpose behind the actual process. Especially nowadays when every third person you meet is a “yogi” – this book is the best reality-check into how truly yogis we are according to the actual shastra, revealed scriptures. Moreover, as evident from the title, this book perfectly explains what actual perfection in Yoga is, and believe it or not – it’s not even near the ability to simply stretch like you don’t have bones or to fly like a real mystic, or stop breathing and eat only prana. Yoga is much deeper than that. Infinitely deeper. I’d like this book to become a must-have book for every yoga studio because not only it would bring everything in its places and show the ultimate direction of the entire practice, but also help all the aspiring yogis to actually take advantage of everything that the process of yoga has to offer.

Episodes playlist 044-054

One of my favorite quotes

The Perfection of Yoga | Chapter 8 “The Perfection of Yoga”

yoginām api sarveṣāṁ
śraddhāvān bhajate yo māṁ
sa me yuktatamo mataḥ

“And of all yogīs, he who always abides in Me with great faith, worshiping Me in transcendental loving service, is most intimately united with Me in yoga and is the highest of all.”

It therefore follows that the culmination of all yogas lies in bhakti-yoga, the rendering of devotional service unto Kṛṣṇa. Actually, all of the yogas delineated in Bhagavad-gītā end on this note, for Kṛṣṇa is the ultimate destination of all the yoga systems. from the beginning of karma-yoga to the end of bhakti-yoga is a long way to self-realization. Karma-yoga, without fruitive results, is the beginning of this path. When karma-yoga increases in knowledge and renunciation, the stage is called jñāna-yoga, or the yoga of knowledge. When jñāna-yoga increases in meditation on the Supersoul by different physical processes, and the mind is on Him, it is called aṣṭāṅga-yoga. And, when one surpasses aṣṭāṅga-yoga and comes to worship the Supreme Personality of Godhead, Kṛṣṇa, that is called bhakti-yoga, the culmination. factually, bhakti-yoga is the ultimate goal, but to analyze bhakti-yoga minutely one has to understand the other processes. The yogī who is progressive is therefore on the true path to eternal good fortune. One who sticks to a particular point and does not make further progress is called by that particular name – karma-yogī, jñāna-yogī, dhyāna-yogī, rāja-yogī, haṭha-yogī, etc. – but if one is fortunate enough to come to the point of bhakti-yoga, Kṛṣṇa consciousness, it is to be understood that he has surpassed all the other yoga systems.

Kṛṣṇa consciousness is the last link in the yogic chain, the link that binds us to the Supreme Person, Lord Śrī Kṛṣṇa. Without this final link, the chain is practically useless. Those who are truly interested in the perfection of the yoga process should immediately take to Kṛṣṇa consciousness by chanting Hare Kṛṣṇa, understanding Bhagavad-gītā, and rendering service to Kṛṣṇa through this society for Kṛṣṇa consciousness and thereby surpass all other systems and attain the ultimate goal of all yoga – love of Kṛṣṇa.